06
Dec
12

January Window… I just can’t get excited

January

I’m optimistic most of the time. Well, I try to be, but I just can’t get excited about the January transfer window.

For the last few years, we have conducted very little business, in fact I could only name you two players off the top of my head we have bought without going into the research. Jose Reyes and Arshavin.

So when I read articles from the Daily Fail, The Sun, The Mirror and various others linking us with players from other clubs, I can’t get as excited as most people.

Wenger himself is well-known for being stubborn with the transfer window itself. He doesn’t believe you get ‘value for money’ in the January window as people are in a rush to get everything done in the space of 30 days. Prices are over-inflated and invariably you buy players at prices you wouldn’t consider paying in the summer window.

I mean look at the pony-tailed failure at Liverpool. £35m? I mean I rate the guy, not much, but I rate him. Just not to the value of £35m. Don’t even get the conversation about Fernando Torres started.

I remember the first January transfer window. Arsenal bought Jose Antonio Reyes, Chelsea purchased Scott Parker and Man United bought Louis Saha. However January window buys aren’t always awful. Cisse of Newcastle is a prime example, that with the right signing, the window can prove useful.

The rumours grow as to the four players we are looking to purchase in the coming window. Pepe Reina, Wilfried Zaha, Thierry Henry and Huntelaar.

Pepe Reina… Hmmm, where do you start here? He had a move to Arsenal blocked several seasons back, so it wouldn’t be a shock to see him linked with us again. Pepe wants Champions League football. Something neither Liverpool or us at the end of the season will be able to offer. At least he would provide able back up to Chesney, or the other way around. likelihood 5/10

Wilfried Zaha: People rate this lad, and understandably so. Playing his way into the Premiership is one thing, performing in it is another. We are blessed with Ox and how Walcott has done coming up from the lower leagues. So I’m going to give Wenger the benefit of the doubt. Think this may happen in the summer more than this window. I’d say depends on the sale of Theo or not. likelihood 3/10

Huntelaar: I think this guy is going to be the steal of the window. In fierce competition for his signature with the likes of Liverpool. If you believe the whispers (I tend to be weary) Wenger has set aside £6m and will open negotiations on Jan 1st. But with Giroud, Podolski, Walcott, Chamakh and others, is the Dutchman a necessity? likelihood 7/10

Thierry Henry: I don’t need to explain this one 10/10

I think we must be realistic. Only Henry will be coming in this winter, and in all truth, we will only sign somebody else in a position if we shift others. Arshavin, Chamakh, Squillaci and others are most likely to be sold. Theo is a 50/50 but I would rather he stayed. Sagna as a summer gonner and who knows who we will get in to replace him if anybody.

Either way fellow gooners, don’t be shocked if come deadline day when Jim White’s hair is going even lighter, that we only have one name on the in board.

Feedback welcome

Savvygooner

0 Responses to “January Window… I just can’t get excited”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

