30
Mar
13

Convinced?… No? me neither

  Mikel Arteta of Arsenal scores their fourth goal from the penalty spot during the Barclays Premier League match between Arsenal and Reading at Emirates Stadium on March 30, 2013 in London, England

 

With our very recent change in fortunes I was looking very much forward to the visit of Reading, I didn’t think it was going to be as one sided as it turned out.  at one stage of the first half we actually had 95% of possession, although as impressed as I was I cannot help but think this is just another game that will once more paper over the cracks. the very limited amount of times we were put under pressure we were yet again very unconvincing. The reading goal was of poor Sunday League defending standard. Thankfully Santi Cazorla was on hand to pretty much single handed secure us three points. 

 

Not for the first time this season I found myself incredibly disgruntled at Arsene Wenger‘s team selection. No problem with Fabianski and the back four as they have been steady-ish in the last few games. its ahead of them that I have the problem. Cazorla who was yet again impressive and played out of position. He needs to play just off the front to effect the game to his maximum potential. Gervinho ( I know he opened the scoring and was involved in two other goals) instead of Oxlade-Chamberlain, this decision baffles me. What does he have to do to get a start these days. started against swansea and was impressive then gets dropped. 

 

I would have had Oxlade-Chamberlain right, and Podolski left with Santi just behind Giroud. Finishing the midfield off with Arteta and Ramsey in the central roles. 

 

Nevertheless a well earned three points but I would be very nervous of us putting the same team out against stronger opposition.

 

Feedback Welcome

 

Goonerscribe

0 Responses to “Convinced?… No? me neither”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

